ESGE Curricula Working Group

ESGE Curricula Working Group

About us


Training in endoscopy is a challenging endeavor. For the basic endoscopy curriculum, most countries have specific threshold standards to define / assess competence in basic endoscopic procedures in order for trainees to obtain their gastroenterology certification to perform endoscopy. For more advanced endoscopy and often more invasive procedures, there is a lack of guidance for training and assessing competence, since these skills are generally acquired outside of or after the core curriculum of gastroenterology. ESGE strives to provide evidence-based standards for training requirements for such endoscopic procedures

  • To develop a curriculum of minimal standards and training for specific advanced endoscopic procedures, that are more interventional and in general require additional training beyond the core endoscopy curriculum provided in each country.
  • The aim is not to address a generic endoscopic training curriculum for fellows. This falls under the responsibility and authority of the national accreditation instances and may differ throughout the different European members.
  • In a first step, Standards will be developed for
    • Endoscopic submucosal dissection (ESD)
    • Optical endoscopic diagnosis
    • Small bowel endoscopy
  • To incorporate these standards into the overall quality improvement initiative of ESGE
  • In a second phase and after evaluation of other possible topics for training, we will cover
    • Diagnostic endoscopic ultrasound (EUS)
    • Endoluminal treatment of esophageal neoplasia
    • Endoscopic mucosal resection of LST colonic lesions
    • Hepatobilairy and pancreatic interventional endoscopy

ESGE Curricula Working Group members

Curricula working group: core

Professor Raf Bisschops (Belgium) - chair
Professor Helmut Messmann (Germany)
Professor Mário Dinis-Ribeiro (Portugal)

Curricula working group: ERCP&EUS

Dr Gavin Johnson (UK) - chair
Dr George Webster (UK)
Dr Andrea Anderloni (Italy)
Dr Abdenor Badaoui (Belgium)
Dr Noor Bekkali (UK)
Dr Ivo Boškoski (Italy)
Dr Sara Campos (Portugal)
Dr Dimitrios Christodoulou (Greece)
Dr László Czakó (Hungary)
Dr Michael Fernandez (Belgium)
Dr Marc Giovannini (France)
Dr Stefan Gölder (Germany)
Dr Istvan Hritz (Hungary)
Dr Evangelos Kalaitzakis (Denmark)
Dr Shyam Menon (UK)
Dr Ivan Nedoluzhko (Russian Federation)
Dr Maria Chiara Petrone (Italy)
Dr Jan-Werner Poley (The Netherlands)
Dr Christoph Schlag (Germany)
Dr Andrada Seicean (Romania)
Dr Juan J. Vila (Spain)
Dr Leena Kylanpaa (Finland)
Dr Tomas Hucl (Czech Republic)
Dr Urban Arnelo (Sweden)

Curricula working group: ESD

Dr Pedro Pimentel-Nunes (Portugal) - chair
Dr Eduardo Albéniz Arbizu (Spain)
Professor Frieder Berr (Austria)
Professor Pierre Deprez (Belgium)
Dr Pieter Dewint (Belgium)
Professor Mario Dinis-Ribeiro (Portugal)
Dr Alanna Ebigbo (Germany)
Dr Amyn Haji (UK)
Dr Alba Panarese (Italy)
Dr Mathieu Pioche (France)
Professor Bas L.A.M. Weusten (The Netherlands)

Curricula working group: Optical diagnosis

Professor Evelien Dekker (The Netherlands) - chair
Dr James East (UK) - chair
Professor Emmanuel Coron (France)
Professor Helmut Neumann (Germany)
Professor Ecaterina Daniela Dobru (Romania)
Dr Roman Kuvaev (Russian Federation)
Dr Marco Bustamante Balen (Spain)
Dr Ignasi Puig Del Castillo (Spain)
Ms Britt B.S.L. Houwen (The Netherlands)

Curricula working group: Small bowel

Dr David Sanders (UK) - chair
Dr Cristina Carretero Ribon (Spain)
Dr Edward Despott (UK)
Dr Alberto Murino (UK)
Dr Xavier Dray (France)
Dr Martin Keuchel (Germany)
Dr Reena Sidhu (UK)