ESGE Quality Improvement Committee

ESGE Quality Improvement Committee

Strategic aims and responsibilities

  • To improve the global quality of gastrointestinal endoscopy, the delivery of patient-centered endoscopy services and promote a unifying theme of quality of gastrointestinal endoscopy
  • To assist gastrointestinal endoscopy units and endoscopists in achieving these standards in endoscopic practice

  • To review, consolidate and/or update endoscopy quality and performance measures as high-level evidence becomes available
  • To facilitate the implementation of ESGE QIC aims
  • To disseminate quality and performance measures to ESGE member societies, endoscopy sections of national gastroenterology societies, and ESGE individual members

Quality Improvement Committee Chair

Raf Bisschops
Raf Bisschops (Belgium)

Quality Improvement Committee

Marianna Arvanitakis (Belgium)
Pradeep Bandhari (UK)
Mário Dinis-Ribeiro (Portugal)
Miguel Areia (Portugal)
Dirk Domagk (Germany)
Michal Kaminski (Poland)
Cristiano Spada (Italy)
Andrew Veitch (UK)
Jeanin van Hooft (The Netherlands)

QIC working groups

Upper GI

Professor Miguel Areia (Portugal)
Dr Vanja Giljaca (UK)
Dr Roman Kuvaev (Russia)
Dr Philippe Leclercq (Belgium)
Dr Ashraf Monged (Ireland)
Professor Bas Weusten (The Netherlands)

Lower GI

Professor Michal Kaminski (Poland)
Dr Marek Bugajski (Poland)
Professor Michael Bretthauer (Norway)
Professor Monika Ferlitsch (Austria)
Dr Elisabeth Macken (Belgium)
Dr Mauro Manno (Italy
Dr Silvia Pecere (Italy)

Small bowel

Dr Cristiano Spada (Italy)
Dr Cristina Carretero (Spain)
Dr Edward J. Despott (UK)
Professor Goran Hauser (Croatia)
Dr Martin Keuchel (Germany)
Dr Alberto Murino (UK/Italy)


Professor Dirk Domagk (Germany)
Dr Andrea Anderloni (Italy)
Dr John Gásdal Karstensen (Denmark)
Dr Tibor Gyökeres (Hungary)
Dr Ivan Lyutakov (Bulgaria)
Dr Mahmoud Omar (Kuwait)
Dr Ilaria Tarantino (Italy)

Endoscopy service

Dr Andrew Veitch (UK)
Dr George Cortas (Lebanon)
Dr Paraskevas Gkolfakis (Belgium)
Dr Alba Panarese (Italy)
Dr W. Rogier ten Hove (The Netherlands)
Professor Konstantinos Triantafyllou (Greece)

ESGE QIC Quality Check APP

List of ESGE QIC Publications